HDH

furniture

Association of the German Furniture Industry ("Verband der Deutschen Möbelindustrie" - VDM)

The Association of the German Furniture Industry ("Verband der Deutschen Möbelindustrie" - VDM) is the largest industry association within the Hauptverband der Deutschen Holzindustrie (HDH). The VDM represents German furniture manufacturers indirectly, because its members are the trade bodies of the furniture industry. The main task of the VDM is to protect and represent the economic, political and technical interests of the furniture industry vis-a-vis politicians, trade unions and the public. The Association works at Federal level and also maintains active contact with other European industry associations.

The German furniture industry

The German furniture industry is expected to complete the year 2017 with a generally stable sales development. After three years of strong growth, the domestic furniture industry was able to maintain its high level, even though the industry's sales growth slowed in the course of 2017. For 2017 as a whole, we anticipate stable sales development and a sales value of just under € 18 billion.

After ten months - ie up to and including the end of October - the sector statistics showed a slightly negative result of minus 0.2 percent with a total turnover of € 14.8 billion. This result for the first ten months of 2017 is as follows:

After the record level in the previous year, the German kitchen manufacturers recorded a decline of 3.3 percent to € 3.9 billion in sales. The office, shop and contract furniture segment posted sales of just under € 3.3 billion, up 0.8 percent. In mattresses, a decline in sales of 2.9 percent to almost € 730 million was recorded. For the upholstered furniture industry, official statistics, which only cover developments at the German production sites, show a decline in sales of 3.4 percent to around € 810 million. The other Furniture segment posted an increase in sales of 2 percent to € 6.1 billion. This largest segment of the industry includes in the official evaluation of living, dining and bedroom furniture and small furniture, non-upholstered seating and furniture parts.

The average number of furniture manufacturers producing in Germany in the first ten months was 492 - their number was also slightly lower than in the same period of the previous year due to bankruptcies in the industry (-1.3 percent). The number of employees also reduced only slightly by 0.3 percent to 83,960.

More Information at moebelindustrie.de

Großansicht

Within the Association of the German Furniture Industry there are other trade bodies, which represent individual segments of the furniture industry. These include, among others, the Association of the German Upholstered Furniture Industry (Verband der Deutschen Polstermöbelindustrie - VdDP), the Association Interior Business Association (Industrieverband Büro und Arbeitswelt e. V. - IBA) and the Association of the German Domestic Furniture Industry (Verband der Deutschen Wohnmöbelindustrie - VdDW).
Wohnmöbel

Domestic furniture

Association of the German domestic furniture industry (Verband der Deutschen Wohnmöbelindustrie - VdDW)
Polstermöbel

Upholstered furniture

Association of the German Upholstered Furniture Industry (Verband der Deutschen Polstermöbelindustrie - VdDP)
Büromöbel

Interior Business

Interior Business Association (Industrieverband Büro und Arbeitswelt e. V. - IBA)

HDH

Möbel

Verband der Deutschen Möbelindustrie

Der Verband der Deutschen Möbelindustrie (VDM) ist der größte Branchenverband innerhalb des Hauptverbandes der Deutschen Holzindustrie (HDH). Der VDM vertritt die deutschen Möbelhersteller indirekt, denn seine Mitglieder sind die Fachverbände der Möbelbranche. Die Hauptaufgabe des VDM besteht in der Wahrung und der Vertretung der wirtschaftlichen, politischen sowie technischen Interessen der Möbelindustrie gegenüber Politik, Gewerkschaften und Öffentlichkeit. Der Verband arbeitet auf Bundesebene und pflegt zudem den Austausch mit europäischen Wirtschaftsverbänden.

Die deutsche Möbelindustrie

Die deutsche Möbelindustrie wird das Jahr 2017 voraussichtlich mit einer insgesamt stabilen Umsatzentwicklung abschließen. Nach drei wachstumsstarken Jahren konnte die heimische Möbelindustrie das hohe Niveau halten, auch wenn sich das Umsatzwachstum der Branche im Jahresverlauf 2017 verlangsamte. Für das Gesamtjahr 2017 rechnen wir mit einer insgesamt stabilen Umsatzentwicklung und einem Umsatzwert von knapp unter 18 Mrd. €.

Nach zehn Monaten – also bis einschließlich Ende Oktober – weist die Branchenstatistik ein geringfügig negatives Ergebnis von minus 0,2 Prozent mit einem Gesamtumsatz von 14,8 Mrd. € aus. Dieses Ergebnis setzt sich für die ersten zehn Monate 2017 wie folgt zusammen:

Nach dem Rekordwert im Vorjahr verzeichneten die deutschen Küchenhersteller ein Minus von 3,3 Prozent auf 3,9 Mrd. € Umsatz. Das Segment der Büro-, Laden- und Objektmöbel erzielte bei einem Plus von 0,8 Prozent einen Umsatz von knapp 3,3 Mrd. €. Bei Matratzen schlug ein Umsatzminus von 2,9 Prozent auf knapp 730 Mio. € zu Buche. Für die Polstermöbelindustrie weist die amtliche Statistik, die ausschließlich die Entwicklung an den deutschen Produktionsstandorten erfasst, einen Umsatzrückgang um 3,4 Prozent auf rund 810 Mio. € aus. Das Segment der sonstigen Möbel zeigt ein Umsatzplus von 2 Prozent auf 6,1 Mrd. €. Dieses größte Teilsegment der Branche umfasst in der amtlichen Auswertung Wohn-, Ess- und Schlafzimmermöbel sowie Kleinmöbel, nicht gepolsterte Sitzmöbel und Möbelteile.

Die durchschnittliche Zahl der in Deutschland produzierenden Möbelfirmen lag in den ersten zehn Monaten bei 492 – ihre Zahl ging im Vergleich zum Vorjahreszeitraum auch aufgrund der Insolvenzen in der Branche leicht zurück (-1,3 Prozent). Die Zahl der Beschäftigten reduzierte sich ebenfalls nur leicht um 0,3 Prozent auf 83.960.

Mehr Informationen unter moebelindustrie.de

Großansicht

Innerhalb des Verbandes der Deutschen Möbelindustrie gibt es weitere Fachverbände, die einzelne Segmente der Möbelindustrie repräsentieren. Dazu gehören u. a. der Industrieverband Büro und Arbeitswelt e.V. (IBA) und der Verband der Deutschen Wohnmöbelindustrie (VdDW).
Wohnmöbel

Wohnmöbel

Verband der Deutschen Wohnmöbelindustrie (VdDW)
Polstermöbel

Polstermöbel

Verband der Deutschen Polstermöbelindustrie (VdDP)
Büromöbel

BÜRO UND ARBEITSWELT

Industrieverband Büro und Arbeitswelt e.V. (IBA)